2018 Finals
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 5 June 2022
2026 Finals

World Cup Index
Preliminary Competition
Final Tournament
Team Records
Squad Record

Qatar 20



The 22nd FIFA World Cup Finals were awarded to Qatar on 2 December 2010.

In October 2007, FIFA ended its continental rotation policy. The bidding farce to host the 2018 and 2022 World Cups began in January 2009, and national associations had until 2 February 2009 to register their interest. During the process, all non-European nations gradually withdrew from the 2018 bid, thus making UEFA nations ineligible for the 2022 bid.
In the end, there were five bids for the 2022 World Cup: Australia, Japan, Qatar, Korea Republic and United States.

Australia were eliminated in the first round after receiving just one vote. Japan were then eliminated from the next round after receiving two votes, one less than they received in the first round. Korea Republic were then eliminated in Round Three, leaving the United States and Qatar to battle it out in the final, after failing to receive the majority twelve votes. Qatar then won by fourteen votes to eight.

Due to Qatar's intense summer heat, this tournament will be held from late-November to mid-December, making it the first to not be held in the summer, in a reduced timeframe of 28 days.


The Draw

The final draw for the 2022 World Cup will be in on 1 April 2022.

Pot 1 (seeded) Pot 2 Pot 3 Pot 4
Qatar Mexico Senegal Cameroon
Brazil Netherlands Iran Canada
Belgium Denmark Japan Ecuador
France Germany Morocco Saudi Arabia
Argentina Uruguay Serbia Ghana
England Switzerland Poland UEFA Play-off A
Spain United States Korea Republic AFC/Conmebol
Portugal Croatia Tunisia Concacaf/OFC


The Build-Up

1 April 2022 - Conducted by England's own Jermain Jenas, the draw is made in Qatar. England are drawn in Group B by Cafu.

First Phase Table
Group B
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
United States                  
21 November 2022
England vs. Iran  
United States vs. Wales  

25 November 2022
England vs. United States  
Iran vs. Wales  

29 November 2022
Wales vs. England  
Iran vs. England  

The Second Phase

3 December 2022
4 December 2022
5 December 2022
6 December 2022

Round of sixteen

Quarter Finals

9 December 2022
10 December 2022

Semi Finals

13 December 2022
14 December 2022


Third Place Play-off

17 December 2022


The 2022 Final

18 December 2022