England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 19 June 2007


England Honours -
Football Writers' Association Tribute Award

The Football Writers' Association Merit award, first made in 1983, goes to a football figure deemed by the selection committee to have made an outstanding contribution to the national game.

As of 2005, the award had been made 23 times, and 12 England players--one of whom also served as England manager (Bobby Robson)--had won the award.  In addition, the award went twice to former England managers who never earned an England cap, to Ron Greenwood in 1983 and to Graham Taylor in 2002.

Football Writers' Association Tribute Award
[England Players/Managers Highlighted]
Year Winner
1983 Ron Greenwood CBE
1984 Bob Paisley OBE
1985 Sir Trevor Brooking MBE
1986 Pat Jennings OBE
1987 Kenny Dalglish MBE
1988 Sir Tom Finney OBE, JP
1989 Sir Bobby Charlton CBE
1990 Bobby Moore OBE
Year Winner
1991 Peter Shilton OBE
1992 Sir Bobby Robson CBE
1993 Brian Clough OBE, MA
1994 Denis Law
1995 Sir Stanley Matthews CBE
1996 Sir Alex Ferguson CBE
1997 Gary Lineker OBE
1998 Sir Geoff Hurst MBE
1999 Jim Smith
2000 George Best
Year Winner
2001 Alan Shearer OBE
2002 Graham Taylor OBE
2003 Tony Adams MBE
2004 Jimmy Hill OBE
2005 Arsen Wenger
2006 Bryan Robson
2007 Ryan Giggs
2008 David Beckham OBE