England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 2 May 2008


England Player Honours -
Professional Footballers' Association Fans' Players of the Year


The Professional Footballers' Association Fans' Player of the Year award, first made in 2001, goes to the player deemed to have turned in the season's best overall performance in English league play.  The winner is chosen by vote of the public based on performance in the season ending in the year the award is made.  Any player in England's football leagues is eligible for the award regardless of his country of birth.  From 2008, the event was sponsored by 'Play 2UP'.

PFA Fans' Players of the Year
[England Players Highlighted]
Year Winner Club
2001 Steven Gerrard Liverpool FC
2002 Ruud van Nistelrooij Manchester United FC
2003 Thierry Henry Arsenal FC
2004 Thierry Henry Arsenal FC
2005 Frank Lampard Chelsea FC
2006 Wayne Rooney Manchester United FC
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC