England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 27 April 2009


England Player Honours -
Professional Footballers' Association Players' Players of the Year


The Professional Footballers' Association Players' Player of the Year award, first made in 1974, goes to the player deemed to have turned in the season's best overall performance in English league play.  The winner is chosen by vote of the Association's members based on performance in the season ending in the year the award is made.  Any player in England's football leagues is eligible for the award regardless of his country of birth.  

As of 2009, the award had been made 36 times, and 15 England players had won the award 16 times, one of them (Alan Shearer) having gained it twice.

PFA Players' Players of the Year
[England Players Highlighted]
Year Winner Club
1974 Norman Hunter Leeds United AFC
1975 Colin Todd Derby County FC
1976 Pat Jennings Tottenham Hotspur FC
1977 Andy Gray Aston Villa FC
1978 Peter Shilton Nottingham Forest FC
1979 Liam Brady Arsenal FC
1980 Terry McDermott Liverpool FC
Year Winner Club
1981 John Wark Ipswich Town FC
1982 Kevin Keegan Southampton FC
1983 Kenny Dalglish Liverpool FC
1984 Ian Rush Liverpool FC
1985 Peter Reid Everton FC
1986 Gary Lineker Everton FC
1987 Clive Allen Tottenham Hotspur FC
1988 John Barnes Liverpool FC
1989 Mark Hughes Manchester United FC
1990 David Platt Aston Villa FC
Year Winner Club
1991 Mark Hughes Manchester United FC
1992 Gary Pallister Manchester United FC
1993 Paul McGrath Aston Villa FC
1994 Eric Cantona Manchester United FC
1995 Alan Shearer Blackburn Rovers FC
1996 Les Ferdinand Newcastle United FC
1997 Alan Shearer Newcastle United FC
1998 Dennis Bergkamp Arsenal FC
1999 David Ginola Tottenham Hotspur FC
2000 Roy Keane Manchester United FC
Year Winner Club
2001 Teddy Sheringham Manchester United FC
2002 Ruud  van Nistelrooij Manchester United FC
2003 Thierry Henry Arsenal FC
2004 Thierry Henry Arsenal FC
2005 John Terry Chelsea FC
2006 Steven Gerrard Liverpool FC
2007 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC
2008 Cristiano Ronaldo Manchester United FC
2009 Ryan Giggs Manchester United FC