England Football Online
 Home  New Team Matches
Seasons Competition  Opponents Comment
Features Q & A Forum Appendices
Contact Us Page Last Updated 15 December 2008


England Player Honours -
British Sports Writers' Association Achievement Awards

The Sports Writers' Association, founded in 1948, began its sportsmen awards the next year.  In addition to its prestigious Sportsman of the Year award, the Association also gives two merit awards recognizing outstanding achievement in sport, one for lifetime accomplishment in competition and the other for lifetime service outside competition.   England players have won these two awards three times each. 

Pat Besford Trophy for Outstanding Achievement

1990 - Peter Shilton

1994 - Gary Lineker

2001 - Bobby Robson

J. L. Manning Trophy for Outstanding Achievement Outside Competition

1992 - Bill Slater

1995 - Trevor Brooking

1998 - Sir Bobby Charlton

[Many thanks to Trevor Bond, secretary of the Sports Writers' Association, for information regarding the Association's awards.]