Preliminaries 2016
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 2 December 2018
Preliminaries 2020

Euro Champs Index
Preliminary Competition
Final Tournament
Team Records
Squad Records

England: the road to Wembley 20



All 55 UEFA national teams entered qualification, and 24 teams will qualify for the 2020 European Championship. The draw for the qualification groups was held at the European Championship Preliminary Draw in the Convention Centre, Docklands, Dublin, Republic of Ireland, France, on 2 December 2018.

A record 55 teams entered, and took part.

Group A fixtures were also agreed on the evening on 2 December 2018.


UEFA Group A
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
Czech Republic                

22 March 2019
England vs. Czech Republic [ - ]
The National Stadium, Wembley
Bulgaria vs. Montenegro [ - ]
Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofija
25 March 2019
Montenegro vs. England [ - ]
Stadion Pod Goricom, Podgorica
Kosovo vs. Bulgaria [ - ]
Stadiumi Fadil Vokrri, Prishtinė
7 June 2019
Czech Republic vs. Bulgaria [ - ]
Montenegro vs. Kosovo [ - ]
Stadion Pod Goricom, Podgorica
10 June 2019
Czech Republic vs. Montenegro [ - ]
Bulgaria vs. Kosovo [ - ]
Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofija
7 September 2019
Kosovo vs. Czech Republic [ - ]
Stadiumi Fadil Vokrri, Prishtinė
England vs. Bulgaria [ - ]
The National Stadium, Wembley
10 September 2019
England vs. Kosovo [ - ]
The National Stadium, Wembley
Montenegro vs. Czech Republic [ - ]
Stadion Pod Goricom, Podgorica
11 October 2019
Czech Republic vs. England [ - ]
Montenegro vs. Bulgaria [ - ]
Stadion Pod Goricom, Podgorica
14 October 2019
Bulgaria vs. England [ - ]
Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofija
Kosovo vs. Montenegro [ - ]
Stadiumi Fadil Vokrri, Prishtinė
14 November 2019
England vs. Montenegro [ - ]
The National Stadium, Wembley
Czech Republic vs. Kosovo [ - ]
17 November 2019
Kosovo vs. England [ - ]
Stadiumi Fadil Vokrri, Prishtinė
Bulgaria vs. Czech Republic [ - ]
Natsionalen Stadion Vasil Levski, Sofija

The 2020 UEFA European Championship qualifying draw took place in Dublin on Sunday, 2 December 2018.

All the teams involved in the UEFA Nations League were classified from 1-55 following the conclusion of the League Phase.
The top two teams in each of the ten groups will automatically qualify for Euro 2020. The remaining four berths will be filled by the play-offs, which are contested by the 16 UEFA Nations League group winners or the next best-ranked team in their league.
Each seperate League in the UEFA Nations League has been allocated one Euro 2020 spot. Four sides from each league will contest a single legged semi-final and a final in March 2020. The winner of the four finals will go to Euro 2020.
However, if a Nations League winner has already qualified via the European Qualifiers, their place will go to the next best-ranked team in their League.


UEFA Nations League pot: Switzerland, Portugal, Netherlands, England

Pot 1: Belgium, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, Poland.

Pot 2: Germany, Iceland, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Ukraine, Denmark, Sweden, Russia, Austria, Wales, Czech Republic.

Pot 3: Slovakia, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Norway, Serbia, Finland, Bulgaria, Israel.

Pot 4: Hungary, Romania, Greece, Albania, Montenegro, Cyprus, Estonia, Slovenia, Lithuania, Georgia.

Pot 5: FYR Macedonia, Kosovo, Belarus, Luxembourg, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Moldova, Gibraltar, Faroe Islands.

Pot 6: Latvia, Lichtenstein, Andorra, Malta, San Marino.

Those in bold have already been ensured a play-off place after winning their UEFA Nations League group.
European Championship 2020 Preliminary Groups
Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E
England Portugal Netherlands Switzerland Croatia
Czech Republic Ukraine Germany Denmark Wales
Bulgaria Serbia Northern Ireland Republic of Ireland Slovakia
Montenegro Lithuania Estonia Georgia Hungary
Kosovo Luxembourg Belarus Gibraltar Azerbaijan
Group F Group G Group H Group I Group J
Spain Poland France Belgium Italy
Sweden Austria Iceland Russia Bosnia & Herzegovina
Norway Israel Turkey Scotland Finland
Romania Slovenia Albania Cyprus Greece
Faroe Islands FYR Macedonia Moldova Kazakhstan Armenia
Malta Latvia Andorra San Marino Lichtenstein
Final Tournament Venues and Matches

Amsterdam, Baku, Bilbao, Bucharest, Copenhagen, Dublin, Glasgow, London, Munich, Rome, Saint Petersburg.