2020 Preliminaries
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 10 October 2022
2028 Preliminaries

Euro Champs Index
Preliminary Competition
Final Tournament
Team Records
Squad Records

England: the road to Germany 20



53 of the 55 UEFA national teams entered qualification, and 24 teams will qualify for the 2020 European Championship. The draw for the qualification groups was held at the European Championship Preliminary Draw in Festhalle Messe Frankfurt, on 9 October 2022.

A record 55 teams entered, and took part.

Group C fixtures were also agreed on the evening on 2 December 2018.


UEFA Group C
Team P W D L F A GD Pts
North Macedonia                



The 2024 UEFA European Championship qualifying draw took place in Frankfurt on Sunday morning, 9 October 2022.

All the teams involved in the 2022 UEFA Nations League were classified from 1-55 following the conclusion of the League Phase.
The top two teams in each of the ten groups will automatically qualify for Euro 2024. The remaining three berths will be filled by the play-offs, which are contested by the twelve UEFA Nations League group winners or the next best-ranked team in their league.
Three sides from each league will contest a single legged semi-final and a final in March 2024. The winner of the three finals will go to Euro 2020.
However, if a Nations League winner has already qualified via the European Qualifiers, their place will go to the next best-ranked team in their League.


UEFA Nations League pot: Netherlands, Croatia, Spain, Italy

Pot 1: Denmark, Portugal, Belgium, Hungary, Switzerland, Poland

Pot 2: France, Austria, Czech Republic, England, Wales, Israel, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Serbia, Scotland, Finland.

Pot 3: Ukraine, Iceland, Norway, Slovenia, Republic of Ireland, Albania, Montenegro, Romania, Sweden, Armenia.

Pot 4: Georgia, Greece, Turkey, Kazakhstan, Luxembourg, Azerbaijan, Kosovo, Bulgaria, Faroe Islands, North Macedonia.

Pot 5: Slovakia, Northern Ireland, Cyprus, Belarus, Lithuania, Gibraltar, Estonia, Latvia, Moldova, Malta.

Pot 6: Andorra, San Marino, Liechtenstein.

European Championship 2024 Preliminary Groups
Group A Group B Group C Group D Group E
Spain Netherlands Italy Croatia Poland
Scotland France England Wales Czech Republic
Norway Republic of Ireland Ukraine Armenia Albania
Georgia Greece North Macedonia Turkey Faroe Islands
Cyprus Gibraltar Malta Latvia Moldova
Group F Group G Group H Group I Group J
Belgium Hungary Denmark Switzerland Portugal
Austria Serbia Finland Israel Bosnia & Herzegovina
Sweden Montenegro Slovenia Romania Iceland
Azerbaijan Bulgaria Kazakhstan Kosovo Luxembourg
Estonia Lithuania Northern Ireland Belarus Slovakia
    San Marino Andorra Liechtenstein
Final Tournament Venues and Matches

Berlin, Munich, Dortmund, Gelsenkirchen, Frankfurt, Stuttgart, Hamburg, Düsseldorf, Cologne and Leipzig.