Match Dates
England Football Online
Contact Us Page Last Updated 9 September 2023
21st January

England on
22nd January

23rd January
England On This Day
1864 Charlie Shelton born in Sneinton

1897 Alf Quantrill born in Pakistan
Joe Bradford born in Thringstone

Bill Dean born in Birkenhead

Alf Ramsey born in Dagenham

Bill Williams dies in West Bromwich aged 53 years

Stan Collymore born in Cannock
Jack Elkes (reserve) dies in Rayleigh aged 77
Jonathan Woodgate born in Middlesbrough

Angus Gunn (unused) born in Norwich

Joe Payne (party member) dies in Kendal

Jimmy Armfield dies in Blackpool aged 82 years

trial The North vs. The South match postponed
trial The North 4 The South 2 at Aston

death of Queen victoria
1906 trial The North 0 The South 2 at Elland Road
 Fred Spiksley sacked as Southern United FC manager

1910 Dicky Downs marries Eliza Taylor in New Shildon
1912 trial The Whites 1 The Stripes 0 at Ewood Park
1914 David Mercer signs for Hull City AFC for £40

1921 amateur England 0 Wales 2 at Molineux
1923 Tom Roberts' son, Leslie, born

1944 War Charity FA XI 2 RAF 4 at Bristol
1949 amateur England 4 Wales 1 at Swindon
1960 Redfern Froggatt turns down Doncaster Rovers FC
1965 youth England 2 Northern Ireland 3 at Tranmere
1971 Phil Thompson signs professional with Liverpool FC

Paul Merson signs for Brentford FC on loan

Brian Kidd named as Eriksson's assistant
 Matthew Upson joins Birmingham City FC for £3m
2005 Nathaniel Chalobah joins Reading FC on loan
2007 Stephen Warnock joins Blackburn Rovers for £1.7m
2013 Brazil name their squad that will face England
2017 women Norway 1 England 0 in Cartegena
 Ryan Mason fractures his skull from which he will retire

Fikayo Tomori joins AC Milan on loan

Opposition On This Day
1959 official Urs Meier (Switzerland) born in Wurenlos
1964 official Carsten Kadach (Germany) born
1967 Istvan Vincze (Hungary) born
1968 Maurico Serna (Colombia) &
Alain Sutter (Switzerland) born
1974 Serhiy Kormiltsev (Ukraine) &
Jorg Bohme (Germany) born
1977 Simon Bacciocchi (San Marino) born
1978 Jorge Núñez (Paraguay) born
1979 offical Svein Oddvar Moen (Norway) born in Haugesund & Brett Emerton (Australia)
1982 Fabricio Coloccini (Argentina) &
Peter Jehle (Liechtenstein) born
1987 Shane Long (Republic of Ireland) born
1988 Marcel Schmelzer & Marcell Jansen (Germany) born
1993 Filip Stojković (Montenegro) born in Ćuprija
1996 Angus Gunn (Scotland) born in Norwich